On a life with no news, day 25

OK, I must confess, I am experiencing withdrawal symptoms and I started peering over shoulders to read some news and staring at covers of magazines and papers at news agents.

A short while ago I started trading on oil CFDs, so it sounds sensible to keep a bit of track on what’s exactly going on in this world of ours.

I think that I have finally cracked it, my problem is that I am not strong enough to build my own opinions, so I borrow from others. The problem being that, if you really read or listen to the news, analysts and pundits go back and forth as they get paid for air time, not common sense or solid rational ideas with a covenant for error.

So I have started again to read little pieces of news, staying away from op-eds and anything that looks/sounds/reads as someone’s opinion. I am trying not to get swallowed again by the blatant hypocrisy that the business of selling advertising space/time or supporting hidden agendas (they also call these two journalism).

Hence, I am trying to read facts, factual facts, and make the mental exercise of creating my own opinion. I thought I already had it, and I still think I do when comparing with people around me (mental note: get new acquaintances), but still, I had relaxed and got swamped by the current economic climate and contradictory news.

House prices are dropping 30-40% in the last 12 months? Ask a professional couple trying to get a foot on the Richmond property ladder. Ask the owner of a West Thamesmead how much the value of his new built flat decreased from 2005 to 2006.

Using your brain is so much of an effort that I understand why most of us don’t.

.calvin

Leave a Reply

